SMNnews Forums

Go Back   SMNnews Forums > General Forums > Death Metal Discussion

Death Metal Discussion churlish elitist commentary. our most popular forum yet. metal not necessarily discussed.

Old 06-10-2012, 07:07 PM   #1
ChAAPY
it's one louder

Composition and Performance

Who feels like reading? lol.

First of all, I am not a composition major. I've studied a little bit at school (18th, 19th, and 20th century classical guitar/piano, jazz arrangements, and Bach chorales), but my major is guitar performance. I don't mean for this to discredit what I have to say, but I think it's important to point out because I don't want to come across as a know-it-all. I already had my doubts about doing this because I'm nobody special, but I know some of you would love to talk about this stuff and maybe it will help someone. I'm not sure if this is going to be strictly about metal, but I think since it's what we have the most in common with, it's a safe and logical place to start. Also, if anyone has any questions about theory I'd be glad to help, but I don't consider it to be a prerequisite. I would like to talk a little bit about it because it can certainly help open new doors and ideas you might not have otherwise thought of, but just know that unless that knowledge is applied, it's virtually useless in the creative process. After all, theory is an afterthought.

Okay, here's how I'd like to see this play out.